Town of McMillan

Plan Commission Meeting

24 April 2023, 6:00 p.m. (1800)

Approved Minutes

- Call to Order
- Approve/Disapprove Commissioner attendance by telephone: Move to approve Bruce Wineman; Second Carla Mannigel. Voice Vote: Those in favor All aye; Opposed None.
- Roll Call: Dorothy Olson Present; Tammy Wenzel Absent; Bruce Wineman Present; Debbie Davis Present; Carla Mannigel Present.
- Visitor Comments/Questions: None
- Approval of Plan Commission Minutes from the 27 March 2023: Move to approve Debbie Davis; Second Carla Mannigel. Voice Vote Those in Favor All aye; Opposed None.
- Approve/Disapprove Larry Scheuer property from General Agriculture (GA) to Farmland Preservation (FP) CSM Map #19429: The property being discussed is the property that was exchanged between Larry Scheuer and Larry Weigel. Moved to Recommend to the Town Board to Approve the change from General Agriculture (GA) to Farmland Preservation (FP) – Debbie Davis; Second – Bruce Wineman. Roll Call Vote: Dorothy Olson – aye; Debbie Davis – aye; Bruce Wineman – aye; Carla Mannigel – aye.
- Discuss contacting the following Townships relative to any Check List they may have setting forth the Rules for development of a Subdivision. The Towns proposed, initially, are The Town of Lincoln, Town of Cameron, Town of Marshfield, Town of Hewitt and the Town of Spencer: At this time the McMillan Town Board Rep. present at this meeting, Ms. Carolyn Opitz brought a check list she had acquired from St. Croix County, Town of St. Joseph. This was presented to assist the Plan Commission in developing our own Check List. This list was presented to Plan Commission Chair, Ms. Dorothy Olson. We were also given a Check List by our Clerk, John Cokl for the Town of Baldwin. The discussion related to the fact that all information would be helpful but the focus was primarily on Towns that surrounded the City of Marshfield. This seemed appropriate due to the fact that similar issues may need to be addressed. The Townships were divided up between the members of the Plan Commission and the basic questioned to be asked were: Do you have a Check List for Subdivision Development; How do you approach the development of a Subdivision; Can we get a copy of whatever protocol you are using? Ms. Olson assigned each member of the Plan Commission a Township and the appropriate number for the Clerk of that Township. Debbie Davis was assigned the Town of Marshfield. Clerk Janet Meyer, 715-384-5638; Dorothy Olson took the Town of Cameron. The Clerk, Daniel Hall, 715-573-6876; Bruce Wineman was given the Town of Hewitt. Clerk Marlene Stueland, 715-387-2739; Carla Mannigel was given the Town of Lincoln. Clerk Kathleen Altman-Drinka, 715-384-2574. Tammy Wenzel was given the Town of Spencer. Clerk Dennis Gonnering, 715-659-4054 The discussion consisted of the fact that there is a point at which a "clock" starts ticking and after 90 days the Township's input ceased to be relevant. For that reason the series of "hoops" through which the developer must pass needs to be established.

- Discuss issues surrounding "Solar Panel Farms" and "Wind Turbine Farms" as they relate to the Township, the County and the State: The discussion was somewhat extensive but ultimately, the issue has been addressed, thus far, by Chapter 17 of the Zoning Code and details are currently being discussed at a County level. For example, if you are in Farmland Preservation the chance of putting a power generating structure on the property is slim, at this time. If you are Zoned (GA) General Agriculture you are required to have a Conditional Use Permit. The County of Marathon is more in favor of Solar Generation over Wind Generators. The State has some issues that it addresses once the amount of power generated reaches a specific limit, which appears to be 100 Megawatts. This is controlled by the State and it becomes a Public Service issue and is regulated by the State. The discussion was very superficial from this point on. It is a discussion that has to be had at this point. It is felt that the Town of McMillan has not been in the discussion at this point.
- Adjourn: Move to adjourn Bruce Wineman, Second Dorothy Olson. Those in Favor All aye; Opposed None.
- Prepared by Bruce Wineman, Secretary.